MXGP of Garda Report

By Adam Proud


Round 16 of the season saw the riders once again competing around the Pietramurata-based track with the campaign now coming to a close.

After two races of action it was Jeremy Seewer who took his second MXGP victory with a 1-2 result.

The championship lead also switched hands by the end of the round and it is now Romain Febvre who leads the way with a one-point lead over Tim Gajser and a three-point lead of Jeffrey Herlings.

The Dutchman has gone from having a 24-point lead to now sitting third with it all to do in the final two rounds.

MXGP Race 1

Seewer opened the first race by taking the Fox Holeshot and headed the pack with Glenn Coldenhoff and Jorge Prado in second and third.

Prado spent no time at all in moving past Coldenhoff as Tim Gajser, who started the race in sixth, also attempted to do the same.

Gajser and Romain Febvre began to battle it out for third as the race progressed while Jeffrey Herlings remained cautious behind the pair and searched for an opening to get by.

Seewer had a scare during the race with a brief fall but fortunately for the Swiss rider he was back on his bike quickly and held the lead.

Febvre then looked to make a charge to the front as he passed Coldenhoff and then he took second from Prado a short time after.

The two other championship protagonists of Gajser and Herlings then had a battle for third as the race went on which allowed Cairoli to also close in on the fight.

But at the front Seewer took a commanding victory ahead of Febvre, who crashed but managed to hold second and Herlings who ended third.

Gajser had to settle for fourth place with Cairoli and Coldenhoff fifth and sixth.

Prado could only manage seventh in Race One, the KTM rider finished ahead of Alessandro Lupino and Dylan Wright.

Ben Watson finished in tenth on his Yamaha.

MXGP Race 2

Prado grabbed the Fox Holeshot in the second and final race of the day with Cairoli and Gajser following the Spaniard off the line.

It wasn’t long before Gajser made his move for the lead as he quickly past both Cairoli and Prado to move into first.

The battle at the front started to get intense as Herlings quickly moved up into second place, but as he looked to close in on Gajser he made a mistake and crashed.

Herlings dropped down the order to seventh and once again had to make a recovery up the field.

Race One winner Seewer began to make moves up the field, passing Cairoli and then Febvre to take fourth spot.

The Swiss rider had a brief crash just like the first race, but he managed to get going quickly and after making more overtakes he held onto second.

Herlings also started to make overtakes to recover his lost positions and made his way up to fourth, albeit after suffering a second crash in the race.

At the chequered flag it was Gajser who took the race victory with a strong performance ahead of Seewer and Febvre.

Herlings crossed the line fourth, a good result after a tough couple of rounds for the Dutchman. Cairoli and Prado finished fifth and sixth.

Watson ended Race Two in seventh, the Yamaha rider finished ahead of Coldenhoff and Paturel in eighth and ninth.

Wright had another strong race to cross the line in tenth place.

MXGP GP Classification (Top 10)

  1. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha) - 47 points
  2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda) - 43 points
  3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki) - 42 points
  4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM) - 38 points
  5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM) - 32 points
  6. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM) - 29 points
  7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Yamaha) - 28 points
  8. Ben Watson (GBR, Yamaha) - 25 points
  9. Dylan Wright (CAN, Honda) - 23 points
  10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, KTM) - 21 points

Full GP Results
Latest Championship Standings

Browse all race reports

Related Videos

Browse all videos ›