MXGP of Città di Mantova Report

By Adam Proud


In a nail biting MXGP finale which produced a thriller to close out the season, the fight for the championship went right down to the wire in Mantova.

By the end of the first race, Romain Febvre and Jeffrey Herlings were tied-up on points, making it one of the tightest championship battles MXGP has witnessed.

In the end it was Herlings who prevailed to be crowned MXGP champion and take his fifth World Championship crown!

MXGP Race 1

There was no surprises on the rider who grabbed the Fox Holeshot in the first race, Jorge Prado, taking his 17th of the year, led the pack away from the line with Febvre and teammate Herlings close behind.

This helped Herlings close up as Febvre struggled to pass the Spaniard, with the Dutchman easing his way passed both riders and into the lead.

Febvre began to get agitated as he continued to look for a way past Prado and by lap 5 he made a move stick and instantly began cutting into Herlings’ 4.589s lead.

But there was an opportunity for Febvre to snatch the lead as Herlings began to suffer with arm-pump issues in the closing stages, all the while Tim Gajser looked eager to battle for the lead too.

The pair could make no impact on the race victory however, Herlings held on to a 2.465s lead to win the first race and take the championship fight into the final race of the year.

Febvre crossed the line less than five-tenths of a second ahead of Gajser, Jeremy Seewer ended fourth.

Prado managed to end in fifth place ahead of Thomas Kjer Olsen, Mathys Boisrame and Glenn Coldenhoff.

Ben Watson and Brian Bogers rounded out the top-10.

MXGP Race 2

Prado once again took the Fox Holeshot and sealed his victory of the Fox Holeshot Competition. The Spaniard led away Febvre and Herlings off the line.

The situation worked out better in Race Two for Febvre who managed to get by Prado early on, but it wasn’t long before Herlings quickly caught onto his tail and made a move for the lead.

What was even more crucial and ultimately decided the championship was Febvre’s crash as he looked to make it back into the lead. The Frenchman dropped to third and put a heartbreaking end to his season.

Although the championship looked to be wrapped up, the fight for the race win continued right down to the wire as Gajser was all over the rear of Herlings’ KTM.

But the Dutchman held on to take a 1-1 overall result and the 2021 championship crown!

Gajser and Febvre rounded out the top-three in the race ahead of Seewer and Bogers.

Ruben Fernandez finished sixth ahead of Prado and Coldenhoff.

Jeremy Van Horebeek crossed the line in ninth ahead of Antony Cairoli, who ends his career as an MXGP rider after this season.

A thrilling end to the year sets up next year’s battle for the title. Herlings will be determined to hold off the competition when MXGP returns in February 2022!

MXGP GP Classification (Top 10)

  1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM) - 50 points
  2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda) - 42 points
  3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki) - 42 points
  4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha) - 36 points
  5. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM) - 30 points
  6. Brian Bogers (NED, GASGAS) - 27 points
  7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Yamaha) - 26 points
  8. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, Honda) - 24 points
  9. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna) - 23 points
  10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Beta) - 20 points

Full GP Results
Latest Championship Standings

Browse all race reports

Related Videos

Browse all videos ›